SEforALL Administrative Board

Charles O. Holliday

Charles O. Holliday, Chair

Mr. Charles Holliday is the Chairman of Royal Dutch Shell since May 2015. A native of the United States, Mr. Holliday has championed sustainable business practices throughout his career. He has served as Chairman of the World Business Council for Sustainable Development and the Chairman Emeritus of the U.S. Council on Competitiveness, among other leadership positions. Mr. Holliday is the former Chairman of the Board, Bank of America, and Former Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of DuPont de Nemours and Company (DuPont), a science-based products and services company. He is Chairman of the National Academy of Engineering and is a founding member of the International Business Council. Mr. Holliday holds a degree in industrial engineering from the University of Tennessee.

Brian Dames

Brian Dames

Mr. Brian Dames is the Chief Executive Officer of African Rainbow Energy and Power; a South African company dedicated to clean energy solutions. A national of South Africa, Mr. Dames is the former Chief Executive Officer of Eskom, the national electricity utility of South Africa. The utility is the largest public utility in Africa, is among the top utilities in the world in terms of generation capacity and among the top in terms of sales. Mr. Dames began his career at the Eskom Koeberg Nuclear Power Plant in 1987 and rose up through the ranks of the company until appointed CEO in 2010. Mr. Dames resigned from this position in March 2014. He holds Bachelor of Science from the University of the Western Cape in South Africa and an MBA and graduate diploma in utility management from Samford University in the United States.

Hans Olav Ibrekk

Hans Olav Ibrekk

Mr. Hans Olav Ibrekk is Policy Director, Section for Energy, Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Mr. Ibrekk previously worked at the Norwegian Agency for Development Cooperation (Norad), the World Bank, the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD), as well as in the Secretariat for the International Conference on Water and the Environment. He has more than thirty years of experience from government, international organizations, research and consulting in development cooperation, climate ‘proofing’, clean energy, water resources management, environmental financing, and capacity building, among other areas. Mr. Ibrekk served as a member on the Water and Sanitation Task Force of the UN Millennium Project. He has been a member of the board of the Adaptation Fund since 2007 and served as chair in 2013 and 2015. He holds a Master’s degree in Environmental Engineering from University of Washington and a Master’s in Civil Engineering from the Norwegian Institute of Technology.

Dr. Leena Srivastava

Leena Srivastava

Dr. Leena Srivastava is the Acting Director General at The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI). TERI, founded in 1974 in New Delhi, is the largest developing country institution working towards sustainability on local, national and global levels. Dr. Srivastava was the Vice Chancellor of the TERI University in addition to being the Honorary Executive Director at TERI, New Delhi from January 2012 to March 1, 2015. Dr. Srivastava is a member of numerous boards and committees, including the Energy Advisory Board of the World Economic Forum, Scientific Advisory Panel of the Climate and Clean Air Coalition (CCAC) to reduce Short-Lived Climate Pollutants (SLCP), UNEP, and Global Carbon Capture and Storage (CCS) Institute, and Government of India. She holds a PhD in Energy Economics from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India and a Master’s in Economics from the University of Hyderabad.

Rachel Kyte

Rachel Kyte, CEO of SEforALL and Ex officio member

Rachel Kyte is Chief Executive Officer of the Sustainable Energy for All (SEforALL), and Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General for Sustainable Energy for All. A leading advocate for sustainable development, Ms. Kyte is focused on affordable, reliable and sustainable energy as the key to combating both poverty and climate change. Ms. Kyte drives SEforALL’s work to mobilize action towards its 2030 goals of ensuring universal access to modern energy services; doubling the global rate of improvement in energy efficiency; and doubling the share of renewable energy in the global energy mix. As Special Representative for the Secretary General she is the point person in the UN for action towards the recently agreed global goal on sustainable energy.