Paris Agreement Ratification Tracker

On 4 November the Paris Agreement enters into force, thirty days after the world crossed the double threshold of ratification by at least 55 countries and by countries representing at least 55% of global emissions.

Once in force, the Agreement will be legally binding for those countries that sign and ratify it.

The Agreement opened for signature on 22 April, 2016, at a high-level signing ceremony in New York convened by UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon When a country signs, it is obliged to refrain from acts that would defeat the object and purpose of the Agreement.


As of 1 November 2016: 192 Parties signed the Agreement, 92 Parties ratified


The next step, ratification, signifies a country’s intent to be legally bound to the terms of the treaty at the international level.

This Ratification Tracker by Climate Analytics shows progress on ratifications to date, and indicates how many more countries have signalled they intend to ratify this year.